New univeristy foosball society/club?

Foosball chat / key issues and discussion
gregory

New univeristy foosball society/club?

Post by gregory » Thu Jan 01, 2009 8:03 pm

Hi all,
I'm a second year student at Durham University, Before the summer me and friends were randomly playing foosball at one of the bars, I felt good and maybe discovering one sport-ish skill I could do semi-well at. Then some post-grad foreign students came up and challenged us. Wow they were good, they knew the table so well and where the ball could go. Anyway, it got me thinking maybe there should be something to run offical games now and then.

Durham University is a bit unique. We have colleges like Oxford/Cambridge, so inter-college tournaments would definetly be on the agenda. The study is done as a big university rather than split by college, so it's easier to start things as a whole university, and friendships really do cross-college a lot (meaing we go to all the college bars). There are ~14 college bars, I know a good few of them have tables. I think they're all garlando fixed-glass types.

So I thought I'd attempt to set up a society, I was doing some research and found the great BFA website (and Warwick/Cambridge/Oxford Uni websites). My first step will probably be to get each college to send a message in their weekly e-mail to students, then see if some people meet up for some drinks & play. With a few memebers I could get the club ratified by the students union (I have experience of doing that already) or instead attempt to get it listed as a Team Durham club (well they had Frisbie for years and that only became an offical sport a few months ago).

So, any words of advice or encouragement?
Durham University Student

tom_k
Site Administrator

Post by tom_k » Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:19 pm

A few years ago (i.e about 8 in my case) I definitely remember playing some guys from Durham when I was at Oxford in Christ Church Bar.

I could have sworn they had a team then?