Snake shot, 3rd dimension

Playing advice / tips / Rules
Post here if you need help from the experts!
italia

Snake shot, 3rd dimension

Post by italia » Mon Feb 15, 2010 5:17 pm

I am just curious as I have been developing my snake for 3 months now. How difficult would it be to consistently, purposely cut the ball when going for a pull and it going across the keepers into the push side?

The only times it happens at the moment, for me and I guess some others is if it happens by fluke, if you get ahead of the ball during the roll across to whichever side.

Has anyone mastered the art of this?

shovie

Re: Snake shot, 3rd dimension

Post by shovie » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:54 pm

A few players do this (in both directions) and it can be used very effectively against certain defensive styles. I don't tend to use it in competition because it's not something I practice but would suggest that if you do want to add it to your arsenal to make sure that (while maintaining as much of the technical execution as you can from your regular snake) you make it "feel" different so that it doesn't mess with your normal execution. Perhaps slowing the takeoff or changing the amount of pressure on the ball, things that won't be as obvious as altering the ball position of changing your grip but allow you to treat the two shots as separate.

Hopefully Rob A, Rob D or Joe H will be able to give you some tips.

Alex

italia

Post by italia » Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:02 pm

ah thanks for the reply. Yeah, something I have noticed slightly is that it might change the way i do a normal snake. But the thing is, I want to try and keep it hidden so that there are no tell tale signs that it is the shot I would be going for if you know what I mean.

Mase

Post by Mase » Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:06 pm

I have been working on this but the push side cut is almost impossible the pull is far easier. I know Rob D says the same. I gave up on this and thought i should learn a five bar.