Is this allowed during a torniment?

Playing advice / tips / Rules
Post here if you need help from the experts!
Post Reply
User avatar
Bushy
Posts: 444
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 8:16 pm
Real Name: Adam Bushell
Location: Harrogate, North Yorkshire

Is this allowed during a torniment?

Post by Bushy » Wed May 02, 2007 10:35 am

Can you set the ball in a backpinned position on your 5 bar on a garlando during the warwick event or does it have to be under the 5 bar?
I think there is a rule saying the ball HAS to be within the white circle which means the ball will be slighly out of it but many times during liverpool ive witnessed people doing this so i dont no whats allowed and whats not.

User avatar
sparky
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 6:39 pm
Real Name: Luke Ashley
Location: Warwick Uni/Reading

Post by sparky » Wed May 02, 2007 10:44 am

I believe the rule is that the first puppet to touch the ball has to be the middle one, so starting in a backpin should be OK. I think.

Luke

User avatar
davez
Posts: 4072
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:17 pm
Real Name: Dave Ziemann
Location: London, UK

Post by davez » Wed May 02, 2007 11:13 am

ITSF Rules wrote:4.1 The serve.
The serve shall begin with the ball stopped at the middle player figure of the five-man rod. The player serving the ball must then follow the ready protocol.
4.1.1 If the ball is served from a position other than the middle player figure and the violation is discovered before the ball is scored play shall stop and the ball will be re-served by the same team. Once a point is scored, no appeal shall be made. The penalty for subsequent violations is loss of possession to the opponent for serve.

User avatar
Shovo
Posts: 2774
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2003 9:59 pm
Real Name: John Shovelton
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Post by Shovo » Wed May 02, 2007 11:29 am

Brilliant! So if you notice your opponent started the ball elsewhere, wait until he has it on his 3 and "discover" the infringement then!

(This won't actually work)

The Doctor
BFA Chairman
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 5:41 pm
Real Name: Andrei Russell-Gebbett
Location: London

Post by The Doctor » Wed May 02, 2007 12:22 pm

Best spelling of 'tournament' ever?

User avatar
leaks
Posts: 873
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:35 pm
Real Name: Oliver Deakin
Location: Southampton

Post by leaks » Wed May 02, 2007 12:59 pm

Surely "tournament" is the best spelling of tournament ever?

User avatar
Messiah
Posts: 1519
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 4:12 pm
Real Name: Dan Gallon
Location: London
Contact:

Post by Messiah » Wed May 02, 2007 1:05 pm

leaks wrote:Surely "tournament" is the best spelling of tournament ever?
That's what Andrei asked. Dumbass.
Still going....

User avatar
leaks
Posts: 873
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:35 pm
Real Name: Oliver Deakin
Location: Southampton

Post by leaks » Wed May 02, 2007 1:07 pm

Messiah wrote:That's what Andrei asked
And that's why I answered. Knobjockey.

User avatar
davez
Posts: 4072
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:17 pm
Real Name: Dave Ziemann
Location: London, UK

Post by davez » Wed May 02, 2007 2:29 pm

Shovo wrote:Brilliant! So if you notice your opponent started the ball elsewhere, wait until he has it on his 3 and "discover" the infringement then!

(This won't actually work)
The "delayed call" trick is also possible (and always has been on Tornado) when the ball is served by the wrong team.

For example, assume the ball goes dead between the 5s and your opponent tries to cheat you by taking the serve when actually it should have been your sevre. If you do not spot it, your opponent can wait to see whether they succeed in their 5-3 pass. If there is a 5-bar fight and the ball ends up on your 3-bar, they can then "remember" that the ball was served incorrectly.

I'm interested why you say it wouldn't work.

Dave

Rob Davey
Posts: 1108
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 4:36 pm
Real Name: Rob Davey
Location: Bristol

Post by Rob Davey » Wed May 02, 2007 2:43 pm

Why do you ask that?

Rob

User avatar
Shovo
Posts: 2774
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2003 9:59 pm
Real Name: John Shovelton
Location: Oxford
Contact:

Post by Shovo » Wed May 02, 2007 3:03 pm

davez wrote:I'm interested why you say it wouldn't work.
Because if a ref isn't present, you can't make your opponent put the ball back on his 5-bar as he can contest your call.

User avatar
davez
Posts: 4072
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:17 pm
Real Name: Dave Ziemann
Location: London, UK

Post by davez » Wed May 02, 2007 6:48 pm

Ah, you meant it wouldn't work with you!

Post Reply