ITSF Revisions to Rules for 2016

Foosball chat / key issues and discussion
Post Reply
willhawkes
BFA General Secretary
Posts: 1131
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:31 am
Real Name: Will Hawkes

ITSF Revisions to Rules for 2016

Post by willhawkes » Tue Dec 01, 2015 1:23 am

ITSF PUBLISHES REVISED RULES BOOK FOR 2016

The main changes, as outlined in the ITSF's letter announcing it:

- Qualified Authorities: A Referee who is solicited during a match to make a ruling may gather information from other Referees, from spectators, and from video recordings, if available, to help make the best ruling possible.

- Serve and ready protocol: To begin play, the ball must be moved from one player figure to another but may not be directly advanced from the second figure. After contacting the second player figure, the ball may be directly advanced by any other player figure. (This replaces the old 1 second rule after the second figure). This means it’s now legal to advance the ball directly from the third touch when putting the ball into play.

- Ball off the table: If the ball goes off the table following a pass or shot, it will be put back into play at the opposing goalie rods of the team who advanced the ball or had last clear control of the ball.

- Time Out: If the team in possession of the ball calls time out while the ball is in play and moving, the time out will not begin until the ball has completely stopped. No penalty for calling a time out while the ball is moving as long as it stops before time expires.

- Table sides: Teams may switch sides of the table between games and have a time limit of 90 seconds to begin the next game. If the teams switch sides after the first game they must continue to switch sides after each subsequent game. If the teams decide not to switch sides after the first game, they must remain on the same sides for the remainder of the match.

- The Tournament Organizer may require teams to remain on the same sides during televised or recorded matches.

- Alterations to the table: A player may not intentionally bend or flex the rod to assist in gaining possession of the ball.

- Players are entitled to begin each match with brand new balls (if available) or they may agree to play with the existing balls at the table.

. Practice: Illegal Practice is a judgment call by the Referee at the table. Inadvertent movement of the ball, or using the player figures to position the ball before the serve, does not constitute Practice. This implies there is no penalty for moving the ball with the player figures to begin the serve.

- Language and Behaviour: The use of headphones, ear-buds, or any similar electronic listening device is not permitted when the ball is in play.

You can see the whole new rule book here.

http://www.table-soccer.org/rules/docum ... lebook.pdf

User avatar
robmoss2k
Posts: 1682
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 3:36 pm
Real Name: Robert Moss
Location: Bolton
Contact:

Re: ITSF Revisions to Rules for 2016

Post by robmoss2k » Tue Dec 08, 2015 9:38 am

This one seems new as well, and a bit ridiculous:
20.5 A player who removes his hands from the handles and reaches down or away from the table (to wipe his hands, apply rosin, etc) while the ball is in play shall be charged with a distraction.
Does this mean that if I'm going to take my hand off the 2-bar or 3-bar to wipe it before a shot, I have to do so without reaching down or away from the table, i.e. in close proximity to the handle and in full view of the opponent? Does the use of "hands" rather than "hand" mean that it only applies if both hands are removed? It seems very ambiguous and I suspect no two referees would interpret the rule in exactly the same way, particularly seeing as wiping your hands is explicitly allowed elsewhere. Does "the ball is in play" have a rigorous meaning of which I'm not aware which allow the various rules to coexist?

I'm confused.
Image

willhawkes
BFA General Secretary
Posts: 1131
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 2:31 am
Real Name: Will Hawkes

Re: ITSF Revisions to Rules for 2016

Post by willhawkes » Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:09 pm

It's worse.
9.4.1 A player can take his hands from the handles to wipe them off before a shot, as long as this takes no more than two or three seconds. All time limits continue to run while the player wipes his hands. The team on defense should not relax if the opponent takes his hand(s) off the rod.

20.5
A player who removes his hands from the handles and reaches down or away from the table (to wipe his hands, apply rosin, etc) while the ball is in play shall be charged with a distraction.
So is it a distraction or not?

I have to say, having played against French Bonzini players, that it is really annoying / distracting when they take 2-3 seconds to wipe their hands on their little hand towel before shooting on the 3 bar, so I'd be delighted if that went away. I actually called a distraction on someone at last years Montreuil Open because he was doing it too much.

User avatar
robmoss2k
Posts: 1682
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 3:36 pm
Real Name: Robert Moss
Location: Bolton
Contact:

Re: ITSF Revisions to Rules for 2016

Post by robmoss2k » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:53 pm

willhawkes wrote:So is it a distraction or not?
Obviously, accordingly to the rules, yes and no. Personally I sweat like a pig playing under lights sometimes and if I can't wipe my hands before a shot there's likely to be a serious wrench-related injury for the opposing forward when the ball flies off the table towards their head.
Image

Post Reply